The Ideal Job

Last night I lay awake with my occasional insomnia, dreaming about what I’d do if I won the $40 million lottery draw yesterday (I didn’t, of course). And one of the first things that popped into my head was that I would still want to do this consulting thing.

Wow, what a revelation. To be excited about something this much! And the more I’ve thought about it today, the more I’ve realized that this job isn’t just “something to do” to bring in some money while staying home with the kids. It’s actually my dream job.

I loved doing research, but I have to admit that I found the daily grind of experimental work boring sometimes. I liked that I could do experiments on some days, and computer work on other days. But I recall at the end of each post doc feeling like I couldn’t wait to be done and move on to something else. My favorite part of academia was attending the conferences and presenting my work. It made me feel a part of something bigger. Plus it was fun to travel! But the labwork did get dull.

I was working on my current case today, and I had to phone someone and speak in my capacity as consultant and it was very exciting! I also love the fact that each case is something different – new topic to research. I like the physical aspect of the work (which is to say, not much, lol) – going to the library, sitting at the computer, and doing lots of reading and note-taking. Talking with people, etc. It’s all right up my alley. Add to that I can set my own hours and be my own boss…it utilizes all aspects of my education and training (in other words, all those years at University were not in vain). And top it off with a kickass salary (which wouldn’t matter if I had won the lottery, but still gives me a sense of accomplishment, kwim?). I can be home for my children! What could be more perfect than this job?

To have a job that you love. Well, that is one of those wonderful blessings in life. And I consider myself duly blessed!

Categories: Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

