Bye Bye Bedtime Bootcamp

I surrender.

Waking DD up early seemed to be working for a short while, but for the last few days she has been staying up late despite being woken up early. And to top it off, she’s had a major temper tantrum every afternoon/early evening for four days in a row. So today I let her sleep in for as long as she wanted and no temper tantrum.

As an example, Wednesday evening we watched the International Fireworks Festival. DD fell asleep on the way home in the stroller, so let’s put bedtime at about 10:45 pm. I woke her up the next morning at 8:15 am. By evening that day it was obvious she was exhausted. She had a total meltdown when it was time to put on jammies. It lasted about half an hour. When I finally got her to come brush and floss teeth, and come to bed for stories, she wouldn’t settle. She tossed and turned and flopped and tapped until finally she asked to get up. I couldn’t believe it – she should have been exhausted. I was so angry (stupid, I know) for “wasting” so much of my time trying to get her to bed when it just wasn’t gonna happen.

So I realized that this is just another example of sleep training bullshit. Her natural biorhythm is, and always has been, late to bed and late to rise. I tried messing with it, and got bit in the ass. Yes, I confess it would be really nice to have both kids asleep by 8 or even 9 so DH and I could have some time alone with each other, or just personal down time. But it ain’t gonna happen just yet. So, I’ll let DD stay up and watch movies until she falls asleep in front of the TV. At least that way I get some peace and quiet and can go to bed when I’m ready to. One day years from now when it’s 2 am and I’m worried that she isn’t home yet, the irony of this post will be remembered. 🙂

Categories: Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

