I miss my kids

This past Monday I went to my La Leche League meeting while my Mum watched the kids (I’m a leader applicant now, and DS is too disruptive to be there anymore). I was home by 12:30. This afternoon I left the house at 1 pm to go teach a lab at the University. I got home at 6 pm. Tomorrow my mother’s helper is coming over and I have work to do. I’ll be going to my office for about 3 hours.

I just found out that I have to lecture for the first 3 Fridays in November. Friday is our weekly playdate with the other crunchy moms in my area. It’s a great time for all of us – lots of space for the kids to run and play, lots of their friends are there, and I get time with my mama friends. I’m really sad that I’m going to be missing it for most of next month. And I’m sad that they’ll be missing out on hanging with their friends.

I’m also teaching two more labs next month, for a total of five teaching days. It doesn’t sound like much, five days out of a month. But it feels like a lot to me. I need this teaching gig because the title that comes with it is worth money for my business. Plus it is nice to be able to help out my old department and my PhD thesis supervisor, to whom I owe a great deal (not the least of which is all his help with my business). The good news is that I only do this for about 4 months out of the year. So I suppose it’s not so bad.

But I miss my kids already. I would die if I had to work all the time. I’d rather go on welfare.

Categories: Uncategorized | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “I miss my kids

  1. Mama's Kids

    Your last two sentances really hit home for me. MANY WOMEN DO this very thing. I did for a while.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

