Sleep…Again

I seem fascinated by the subject. It’s reassuring to hear from other mamas I know that some other children out there are nightowls, too. I don’t know anymore how much of it can be conditioned (coercive parenting not included) and how much is just the inner biorhythms of the child. But I find myself constantly wondering if there is something I can do, and not finding any answers.

For two days in a row DS has fallen asleep at 4 pm and there was nothing I could do about it (in a stroller or a car). So he was up until midnight, and so was DD. And yesterday they hiked their tails off all day in the park – so much for wearing her out! Yesterday I had to wake them up at 9:15 to get out the door, and today DS woke up at 10 and DD at 11:15!!

I’m blaming it all on DS. He needs to stop napping!!! Today I decided not to go out this afternoon because I knew DS would fall alseep. So it’s 5:30 pm right now and I can actually look forward to putting him to bed early tonight. DD, on the other hand, is going to be up late given how late she woke up and the fact that she’s been indoors all day (busy, but not physically active).

Every time I stop and think about it, it seems insane to me. But I honestly don’t know what to do. I feel like I’ve tried everything. On the bright side, I’ve started going to bed around 9:30 or 10 and reading a book. It’s a nice luxury for me, and the kids come in and out. DD has started bringing books to bed, lying next to me reading, which is really nice. And at least I get to sleep in. But on days when we have to get up early it sucks, and even on days when we have nothing planned I feel like I’m wasting half my day.

It will be very interesting to see how the Great Apartment Re-arrangement will affect their sleeping behaviour. Their own room, where their beds are in the same room as the DVD player. And where I will be putting a new CD player and buying some bedtime story CD’s. At that time I will be planning two things. First, to include said story CD’s in our snuggle time. And second to try and establish a bedtime that simply means “I don’t care what you do, just stay in your room”. I have no idea whether this will work, but at least I’ll have a tidy living room. 🙂

Categories: Uncategorized | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Sleep…Again

  1. kathy

    Hi!i’m kraftykathy from MDC October 2004 mamas! i love your blog! just wanted to let you know that willow is having the same sleep patterns lately. i was wondering if it is just a very gradual part of the growing out of afternoon naps? willow just isn’t tired at 1-2pm. but by 4pm she can’t keep her eyes open.kathy

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

