New Year Resolutions, 2007

1. Be a better blogger. Sorry I have been so sporadic in my writing.

2. Learn to say “no”. With respect to my business, I got a call from a potential client this past week. They are on a tight timeline and frankly, I don’t think the research is going to show in their favour, which means the bill will probably end up being under $500. Not worth it given the size of my to-do list right now. I need to get out of “I’m new and desperate” mode, and into “I started this business so I choose how much I wanted to work” mode.

3. Time management. Now that I don’t have a Mother’s Helper, I don’t have a set slate of time each week that I can count on to get work done. This week I have been sitting down to work every chance I get. And I feel I’m neglecting the kids somewhat because of it. Now here’s something I never thought I’d say: I got a good idea from SuperNanny. Let me qualify by saying I have only watched her once. That was enough. IMNSHO, she is the Devil and represents everything that is wrong with North American society and the way we deal with our children. But I did hear her tell a WAHM that she needed to schedule her time during the day/week into specific work/not-working blocks. This way, she could devote her time to the kids/house when it was not-working time, and know that she had time set aside to do her work. This is not so easy when your kids are younger because often you don’t know when a good opportunity will present itself. And I’m working on getting a set babysitting time each week from my mother or FIL. But I can see the mental benefits of this. Doing what I’ve been doing all week is not really working for me. I end up distracted all the time.

3. Get More Sleep. Okay, that really depends on my kids. As I noted in recent posts, the kids’ sleep went from bad to worse over the holidays. But, I’d like to report that the insanity that was my life just a week ago is now just a bad memory. It’s amazing what a difference a few days can make. One week ago I practically had a nervous breakdown due to massive sleep-deprivation and trying to deal with two screaming kids at midnight, and a husband who, from my rather skewed perspective at the time, appeared to be doing nothing other than complain. It is stunning what effects sleep-deprivation can have on you. My friend AnnaB can illuminate on the subject as well, as can probably many parents of young children who aren’t sleep-trained into oblivion. DS is staying up later on days he doesn’t nap, which I am taking as a sign of progression towards finally dropping it altogether. The last few nights I have been in bed before 11pm, with minimal-to-no nightwaking. And there is a light at the end of this tunnel, I know. While DD may stay up late at night, she sleeps through the night and doesn’t need to torture my nipples to do so.

4. Savour this age. As Spacemom recently wrote, living with a 2 year old is difficult. DS can be such an adorable cutie, but also the biggest pain in the ass. Yesterday he threw a screaming fit in the grocery store because I wouldn’t let him get out of the stroller and play on the escalator. All I wanted was a 4L jug of milk, and two veggies for dinner that night. Trying to wrestle 38 lbs of screaming, thrashing toddler as I physically pin him down to strap him into the stroller while dozens of shoppers look on is not fun. When I finally got him strapped in he let out no less than 5 shrieking screams of pure anger. Then I couldn’t find the milk and had to yell over his screams to ask someone. But as quickly as it started, it stopped and I managed to get my few groceries and get out. I’m thinking by the time we reached the checkout DS was so calm that people must have thought they’d just mistaken me for that lunatic mother and her tortured child.

So there’s my list. Hope the New Year is starting off well for all of you. Happy New Year!

Categories: Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

