DD’s starting to notice

Today we went to Science World to join up with the Homelearning families we missed that morning because we slept in…as we walked from the parking lot to the entrance we passed two small school buses unloading kids.

DD: “Mama, why do all those kids go to school?”
Me: “Probably because they have to. Their parents make them.”
DD: “Don’t they want to be homelearners?”
Me: “I doubt most of them even know what a homelearner is.”
DD: “Well, I’m sure glad I don’t have to go to school.”

It’s already starting to sink in to DD and will likely become even more evident to her as people her age enter Kindergarten. Already strangers chatting her up ask about school and don’t seem to take her seriously when she says she doesn’t go. One tried to convince her that she will learn to love school, until I stepped in and said actually, she really *isn’t* ever going to school.

Hanging out with the homelearning mamas today was fun. They are a really neat bunch of women. I stopped feeling that “school envy” I wrote about in my last post, and was reminded of why *I* am the one to envy. Me and my daughter. Because she really does NOT want to go to school and I can’t imagine how difficult it would be for her if I had to make her go.

Once again I was struck at how different she is, socially. There were about 12 kids in our group and pretty much all of them were playing together at one point, or broken down into smaller groups. DD never joined in. She wandered around doing her own thing. When I asked her if she wanted to play with the other kids (thinking maybe she just didn’t know how to ask) she quite emphatically said “no”. Even DS wasn’t joining in too much, but then he is still so young and really into the “parallel play” thing. I wonder what he’ll be like when he gets to noticing other kids and wanting to join in. But DD is definitely not interested in “running with the crowd”. I think that’s kind of neat in a way. She’s definitely her own person and she quite enjoys being around adults. I see her as maybe being one of those precocious kids who finds the company of adults more enjoyable. Which isn’t to say she doesn’t have friends. She very much enjoys playing one-on-one with her two friends A and C. And yesterday my friend A came over with her son N who DD sees only sporadically and likely didn’t remember. They played together and today DD said that N was her new best friend, lol. Anyways, the point is that this just isn’t a child who “fits” in a school setting. And if it weren’t for us choosing homelearning she would be forced into it. How very sad that would be!

Categories: Uncategorized | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “DD’s starting to notice

  1. Nicki

    I don’t usually read your homelearning blog, but where you wrote “Once again I was struck at how different she is, socially. There were about 12 kids in our group and pretty much all of them were playing together at one point, or broken down into smaller groups. DD never joined in. She wandered around doing her own thing. “

    .. that is SO Chloë. I refer you back to the GCASBC. Seriously.

    I’m often boggled by how similar you and I seem to be, and how much I think C and E would get along. Just if I could manage to connect to you geographically.. or neighbourhoodly, heh!!!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

