It’s a lifestyle thing.

I was thinking today how much I enjoy not being a Monday-Friday person anymore. Even if I didn’t have children at home I think it would be really difficult to get back into working full time. I like having easy mornings, without rushing myself (or the family) out the door. I like that I can do stuff during the week, rather than brave the crowds on weekends. I like that weekends are lazy and free because we’ve done our “chores” during the week. I love that each day is different. It’s addictive, living this way. I saw an old lady pulling her grocery cart and thought that retirement must feel like this, too.

Well, fortunately I don’t have to go back to work. And since we’re homeschooling I won’t have to deal with the morning stress of having to get the kids up and fed and dressed and packed and out the door by a certain time. And I won’t be dealing with after-school extracurricular activities that I have to drive a million routes to get to, then trying to figure out when I’m supposed to make the wholesome, home-cooked dinner for my family while trying to squeeze in some “quality time” with my kids.

This seems to define life for so many families. It is just such an ingrained part of our culture that I think most people don’t even think that it doesn’t have to be that way. Granted, I’m not naive enough to think that we all have the freedom to choose, but a great many of us do. I could be working full time with DH and we could live in a big house and drive two fancy cars…but I wouldn’t trade my relaxed lifestyle for any of that.

It’s addictive, living this way. And I feel truly blessed to be doing so!

Categories: Uncategorized | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “It’s a lifestyle thing.

  1. Anna B

    I am with you there. I think of having to go to a box store on a weekend or late on a week night, and I feel so grateful.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

