Resetting Their Clocks

This is step 1 of my new Sleep Plan. This week I’ve been waking the kids up every morning. The idea was to do so earlier and earlier so that, by today, they’d be getting up at 8 am, our “goal wake time”. We did okay to 8:45, then the next day was supposed to be 8:30 but it was really 8:45, then today was supposed to be 8:15 but we ran into a snag.

DS didn’t nap yesterday and by 6 pm he was begging to go to sleep and absolutely miserable. It was just not fair to try to keep him up any longer so I put him to bed hoping his relatively early morning would keep him asleep until morning. No such luck. He woke up at 1:00 AM and did not get back to sleep until around 5:00 AM. Needless to say I was a total basketcase by that time and my poor nipples hurt SO much from trying to nurse him back to sleep so often. There was no way I was going to get my sorry butt out of bed at 8:15 AM and I didn’t think it was a good idea to do so to the kids, either (DS had woken up around 4 am due to DS’s antics and she was awake for about 30 minutes). I let them both sleep until around 10 or 10:30 AM and enjoyed a leisurely morning sipping tea and reading. It was also the first morning since Tuesday that we didn’t have to be anywhere and I must say I enjoyed it.

On the bright side, DS has not napped today and should go down at a normal time, which may just allow me to wake him at 8 am tomorrow. That will mark Day 1 of Step 2 which is to keep them waking up at 8 each morning and (hopefully) watch their bedtimes get earlier and earlier.

DD, on the other hand, despite being woken up each morning, has not gone to sleep until 11 pm each night, despite my best attempts. She’s getting less sleep than she usually gets but, other than the meltdown at the dentist she has mostly been a real pleasure to be around.

Now for DH and I to draw straws to decide who is gonna get up at 8 tomorrow with the kids!

Categories: Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

