Nice Car? – Check!

We finally did it. We bought a new car. It’s not the one we originally thought we were going to get, however. After realizing how much we want this acreage dream to become a reality, we decided to cut back on the budget for the new vehicle. By total fluke we stumbled across the all-new Hyundai Veracruz…it’s Hyundai’s first luxury vehicle and the reviews are all wonderful. It has excellent safety ratings, the total airbag experience, and all the bells and whistles you could want in a car for $13,000 less then the Acura MDX. Add the extra taxes and financing costs and we saved over $18,000 by buying the Hyundai. Those of us old enough to remember the Pony may balk at the name (I did at first) but after doing some research I discovered that Hyundai has built a solid and respectable reputation for itself. The car feels solidly built and is super quiet with a smooth ride; I’m still totally in awe and in love with this car.

Though I was not sad to see my old Mazda Protege go, it was a tender farewell. That car represented a very poignant time in my life. I bought it when I left my home town for the first time and moved to the big US of A to start my first job after years of University. I’d just left a very bad breakup situation, and was eager to move on with my life. Buying that car was an emotional experience for me – I well recall driving it with Collective Soul cranked in the stereo, feeling truly Free, like the future was limitless with possibilities. That car saw me through a marriage, two kids, several cross-continental moves, and more. But with all that said, now that I have a “real” family vehicle, I’m amazed we carted around four people in that old thing for as long as we did!

I was thinking the other day that I’m almost “there”. Throughout my twenties I held a vision in my mind of where I wanted to be when I turned 40. I wanted to be married with two kids (a girl and a boy), working in a satsifying and successful career, own a nice home and drive a nice car. Well, I got the fab DH and two kids, and the career wasn’t what I’d envisioned but has turned out to be better than I could ever have imagined (stay home with my kids but run my own consulting business). Now, I can check “nice car” off the list as well. This is a beauty and it represents the highest level of comfort and performance I will ever wish for. Now all I have to do is get the real estate (working on it!) and I’ll be complete. I’ll have acheived all my goals (and I turn 40 in January).

Oh, and those of you who remember this post may wonder what terms we chose. We decided to finance rather than lease, for two reasons: first, it looks as though DH’s job is going to be pretty stable (I’m not worried we’ll be leaving the country any time soon) and second, we just couldn’t convince ourselves that owning something wasn’t better than (essentially) renting it – call it an emotional factor, lol. But what also helped was that Hyundai offers a low 3.9% financing if you do a 36 month term, and with DH’s bonuses we should be able to pay this car off in about a year. See, with the acquisition of DH’s company finally complete, the $$ has started coming in…and it’s all going directly to credit card debt. Easy Come, Easy Go. I mean, it’s great that we are paying them off, but imagine if we’d had no debts, all those checks would have been cash in the bank! It puts the reality of debt even more “in your face”. It’s time to stop the insanity!

Categories: Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

