Time to get off the fence

For some time now, I’ve been tossing around the idea of moving to a more rural setting. Those of you who’ve followed my blog for a while have been through the various permutations of this plan: the City Mouse, Country Mouse scheme where we had a few acres outside of town and an apartment in the city, the Endless Commute plan where we get a few acres in a far-flung suburb and I basically never see my husband, or the Island Living plan where move to a lovely little rock whose only access route from the mainland is cut off at 9 pm each night. All these plans had one thing in common: the rural lifestyle but with city living at your doorstep. The bottom line was that I didn’t want to leave the city.

I’ve been a city girl for pretty much my whole life (I grew up in the ‘burbs and spent most of my youth staring longingly across Burrard Inlet to the lights of downtown). I can list off a dozen reasons why urban living is so great. But my lifestyle has changed considerably in the last several years and all these great reasons really don’t apply to me much anymore. I think somewhere in all of this reasoning I forgot that simple fact.

Moving here to a house in the suburbs was supposed to be a “baby step”. An experiment to see if I could handle living in a house and living away from the city. House living rocks and I can’t get enough of it. I think I’d rather die than go back to cramped condo living (at least so long as I have children in my home). As for being away from the city I haven’t missed it for one second (well, okay, on the odd takeout night I have longed for the sushi restaurant that was one block away from our apartment). Seriously, I have everything I need here and actually avoid going over the bridge into town if I can help it.

So this “baby step” has been a cinch and perhaps that is why I’m already looking for the next step (read this previous post if you haven’t already). Yes, I want land. I want doggies and horsies and a neighbours that can’t see into my living room. And it has finally occurred to me that if we’re going to do this, we need to do it all the way. None of this I-want-land-but-I-want-to-be-close-to-the-city-too wishy-washy fence-sitting. For months now I’ve been cooking up crazy schemes to have my cake and eat it too. I wanted the rural lifestyle but I was afraid to leave the city limits to have it. Well, after spending a few days at my Dad’s place over on Vancouver Island (which is chock full of lovely, rural communities and more spectacular natural beauty than you could ever hope to see) I’ve decided that it’s time to make like Nike and Just Do It. Dammit, what’s the worst that can happen? I’ll hate it and want to move home. Not the end of the world.

But really, do I think that will happen? I’m the girl who has dreamed of owning her own horse since she was 7. The happiest time of my life was when I lived in a semi-rural community near the University and spent my days surrounded by horses, riding my bike between barn jobs, and having my dog running freely alongside me as we sped along the riverside. For months now I’ve been cooking up crazy schemes because I wanted the rural lifestyle but was afraid to leave the city limits to get it. And what exactly do I think I would miss so much? I mean, take a look at my current lifestyle: I’m a homemaker, I bake, I knit, I volunteer. I have homeschooled kids and I love, love, love animals. Does this sound like a city girl to you??

It’s plan-making time again!

Categories: Uncategorized | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Time to get off the fence

  1. Nicki

    Uh oh, are you leaving for Vernon?

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

