New Year, new blog…a new life?

This seems like an appropriate day to start a new blog. It is the first day of the year in which I turn 40. And among my various New Year’s resolutions there is one which stands to change my life in ways I probably can’t even imagine right now. After all these years of dreaming about living in the country, I’ve finally mustered up the courage to turn that dream into reality.

My husband has been working on me for some time now. I was open to the idea of rural living…I just didn’t want to leave the city! Slowly but surely, however, reality and dreams came together and brought me to the point where I had to ask myself: why not give it a try?

And so we sat down and worked out a plan. Step 1: save as much money as we can. Step 2: husband finds a way to remain gainfully employed while transplanting the family to a rural community. Step 3: buy some real estate and move!

I’ve started this blog to document the process of fulfilling our dream. There’s sure to be other topics discussed as well, but that will be the main focus.

Categories: the dream | 4 Comments

Post navigation

4 thoughts on “New Year, new blog…a new life?

  1. I grew up in a rural area. I loved it, but but… there was a serious lack of culture. You can avoid this by exposing your children to what you feel they need.

    🙂

    I like the new diggs!

  2. carosgram

    I can’t think of a better way to start a new year than by making a plan to have the life you aspire to. I will be here cheering you on and supporting you during the rough patches.

  3. You know you’ll be stuck in the country with your kids, right???

  4. ruralaspirations

    I think some clarification may be in order. The area we’re looking at is centred around a town with a metro population of ~ 55,000 people. It’s 45 minutes away from a city of ~ 150,000. We’ll be in the outlying rural areas (hopefully less than 20 min drive to town), but utilizing the town for all our shopping and activities. There’s even a well-organized homeschooling group there.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

