Confessions of a Middle-Aged Homebody

When I was about 18 I started going to nightclubs. No, it wasn’t the college pickup stupid drunk club scene. It was more the goth/punk dance clubs and gay clubs (way more fun and no losers hitting on you). I loved the music and the dancing and all the friends I’d see out in “the scene”. We’d hit the clubs about two or three times per week, leaving the house around 9 or 10 pm and not coming home until 3 am or later.

When I was in my mid-twenties I started finding it difficult to leave the house in the evening. I would be cozied up in my “woobie-wear” (comfy, lounge-around-the-house clothes), watching TV or hanging out and I just wouldn’t feel like getting dressed and going out. Or we’d go to my boyfriends house and play cards with his roomies and their girlfriends while we drank a few ciders or something, and I enjoyed that so much that when it came time to head out I often wished we could just stay at the house. I soon gained the nickname “The Jam-Out Queen” because I’d cancel, or “jam out”, on everybody.

Fast forward fifteen years and now I spend more time at home than ever. Well, it is my job! But seriously, since I’m a stay-home mum and the kids are homeschooled I do spend alot of time at home. We have days where we are out most of the day but there are usually one or two days when we have nothing planned and just spend the day hanging out at home, with maybe a trip to the park around the corner or we have friends over for a playdate.

On weekends, when most people are trying to fit in all the “fun things” they don’t get to do during the week, our family is usually spending quiet time together at home. We like to sleep in, stay in our jammies, play games, watch podcasts, cook long slow meals, and read books together. Husband fiddles with computer stuff and I knit or read. I love it.

I used to think that this meant I was lazy. My mother (I love her dearly, I really do) used to throw that word around alot when I was a kid and I think somewhere in my subconscious I bought into it. When I was known as the Jam-Out Queen I was secretly ashamed that maybe I was just lazy. And when our family spends a lovely weekend day without even leaving the house I worry that we’re being lazy and should be out “doing stuff”. Just before Xmas I dragged the kids up to the top of a local snow-topped mountain that had a bunch of Xmas activities going on because I felt guilty for not taking the kids to “do more stuff”. Fifty dollars in gondola tickets later I had whiny kids who weren’t interested in doing much of anything up there. We went home and had more fun watching movies and eating popcorn.

The point of all this rambling is that I used to think my enjoying quiet time at home was some sort of character flaw. But since I discovered my inner domestic goddess I’ve come to see it in a different light. And what I’m now realizing is that it fits in nicely with the whole concept of Simple Living and taking life more slowly. I’m finally at the point where I can say it’s Okay that we don’t go places much on weekends. I think the kids get a whole lot out of long, slow days being together as a family and I know I feel content and happy on those days. Yes, it is winter and that lends itself nicely to hibernating. But if our first month here is anything to go by (when the weather was still warm and the days relatively long) the only thing that will really change this spring is that a larger portion of those days at home will be spent out in the yard.

After all, life wasn’t always about going out and doing Things.  Think “Little House on the Prairie”…but with indoor plumbing, electricity, and wireless internet.

Categories: simple living | 3 Comments

Post navigation

3 thoughts on “Confessions of a Middle-Aged Homebody

  1. parentjazz

    We have weekends like that and call it a “slugfest”. Everyone hangs out in their pajamas, doing whatever. Reading, knitting, surfing the web, and playing marathon sessions of Risk with the kids. We run around so much during the week, it’s great to just….be. I am enjoying your blog. You and I are trying to promote similar principles of simple living n our families–except I have the challenge of doing it while living near New York City! Wish me luck.
    Anne

  2. Monica

    I love your blog. I have some of the same simple living aspirations- it’s nice to read about your journey. Wishing you the best. Monica

  3. Pingback: The Simple Winter « Rural Aspirations

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

