You CAN be plastic-bag free!

I recently read a long thread on the Ravelry boards about some places around the world banning plastic grocery bags (if you’re wondering why this topic is on a knitting/crocheting board think about how excited a bunch of yarn-loving folks would get over the idea of designing the perfect grocery bag). I’ve written here about my quest to become a Plastic Bag-Free Home and a couple of challenges I’m facing. The discussion over at Ravelry had people bringing up several issues that I don’t face, not being in their situation at this point in my life, and it got me to thinking: there MUST be solutions to these problems if we think hard enough. I did… and I came up with some.

Pet Waste: anybody who’s owned a dog in the last 10 years knows that it’s no longer cool to leave dog poo lying in wait for the next unsuspecting passer-by. The most convenient way to deal with this is to carry small plastic bags with you. You turn the bag inside out, put your hand in there, grab the poop from the outside and flip the bag rightside in again. Voila! – poop in a bag and you didn’t have to get your fingers dirty. These bags are then tossed into municipal waste and end up as little perma-bombs of poop in our landfills. Not. Cool. So what’s a dog owner to do? Well, I came up with this one pretty quick: how about a tupperware container? You’d need a little scooper too, though if you did it right you might be able to use the lid as a scooper. You could keep the tub and scooper in a fabric bag. Sure the bag might get a small amount of waste matter on it but that’s why you use a washable bag. Anybody who claims this gets them too close and personal to their beloved animals’ waste products should think twice about ever having children. A quick Google search revealed that I’m not the only one who’s thought about this issue. Check out the Doggie Doo Digester (a septic tank for dog waste) or the Sha-Poopie, a telescoping dog waste catcher with plastic container at the end (which I would wash and reuse rather than throw away).

Other Pet Waste: people who have cats generally have to clean out litter boxes. Ditto if you have rabbits or other rodent pets, or basically any animal that defecates in its bedding. The usual cleaning method is to scoop out the waste (clumping cat litters have made this very convenient), put it in a plastic bag and dump it in the municipal garbage where it can join the dog poop and disposable diapers in creating little time capsules of fecal matter in our landfills (the problem, of course, is when this fecal matter leaks from tears in the bags and contaminates the groundwater). A quick Google search revealed many so-called “biodegradable cat litter” products, but if they’re sealed up in plastic what’s the point? Well, I thought about this issue and was reminded of my days as a stable-hand when I used to muck out horse stalls. Horse bedding ’round here is usually sawdust-like chips and they aren’t cheap so you want to toss out as little of it as you can when removing the manure. A pitchfork and a good technique with the wrist makes this simple and easy. So why not do the same for cat and rodent litter? With the right type of litter/bedding you should be able to just scoop out the cat and rodent poop without too much litter attached and then just flush it down the toilet. And hey, apparently you can buy environmentally friendly, flushable cat litter so perhaps you don’t even need to sift it. The bottom line is that toilets are where poop belongs, not in our landfills!

Diapers: I don’t need to go into all the benefits of using cloth diapers: there are dozens of great websites out there to convince anybody to give them a try (try The Diaper Pin, or Mothering Magazine’s Cloth Diapering forum). But when we are talking plastic bags a couple of issues were brought up. Some people said they used plastic bags to seal up dirty diapers. Well, if you are using cloth how about doing what I did and just carry a few Ziploc freezer bags in your diaper bag? They keep the odor in the bag and they wash out easily with soap and water. They are durable enough that I used the same 5 bags for over two years with my son. And when they are spent you can recycle them (yes, apparently they are Plastic #4, which means our city will accept them for recycling). As for disposables, you can also use ziploc bags if you are in a situation where there is nowhere to dispose of a dirty diaper but then if you’re going to toss what basically amounts to poop wrapped up in a plastic package with Elmo printed on the cover then adding another plastic bag around that is probably not going to make things much worse. I don’t think I need to emphasize the fact that, aside from plastic grocery bags, disposable diapers are the number one item in landfills. It is supposedly illegal to dump human fecal matter in landfills, but we all seem to turn a blind eye because disposables are so darned “convenient”. If cloth just seems like too much work (or if you live where water is a scarce resource) check out the super cool G Diapers.

So these are just a few issues that have been brought up and, in just a few minutes, I came up with an answer. I know I’m not the first one to do so and I’m sure if I spent more time Googling I’d find even more solutions. The point is, I was a bit surprised at how quick people were to deem a plastic-bag free existence as “impossible” simply because they had pets or babies. It’s like nobody can believe we ever managed without plastic bags. Well, I like a challenge and I’m going to continue to pursue this one!

Categories: being green, simple living | 6 Comments

Post navigation

6 thoughts on “You CAN be plastic-bag free!

  1. crayolaab

    I recently switched to a flushable cat litter for our cats (two kinds – World’s Best, which is corn based, and scoopable Feline Pine, which is obviously pine based). Unfortunately, while they both say they are flushable, they also include labels saying that the state of California does not endorse flushing pet waste because it is unhealthy/bad/etc. (Due mainly to toxoplasmosis) Apparently other states agree but don’t force labels to be put on bags (I don’t live in CA).

    So while flushable litter does exist, apparently we aren’t supposed to use it as flushable litter.

    BUT, I have found that these litters are MUCH more conducive to simply scooping out the waste and leaving the litter behind, unlike the traditional clay litters.

  2. ruralaspirations

    I’ve heard that about California. I’m surprised that toxoplasmosis is considered a threat even though it’s going through a municipal sewage treatment facility, and yet they are encouraging people to dump it raw into landfills? Doesn’t make sense to me.

  3. Pingback: The truth about Plastic « Rural Aspirations

  4. I flush my dog’s poops down the toilet with a flushable doggy waste bag. Most eco-friendly

    way to get ride of poops.

    The company is called Flush Doggy.

    There are flushable dog poop bags. The best answer probably because dog poop can get

    treated just as your poop is.

    FlushDoggy, is a fully biodegradable, flushable(water soluble) dog waste bag that is very

    eco-friendly. Dog doodies are best to be flushed down the toilet and degrade naturally ,

    just as our own doodies. Stop destroying our earth and start educating the public, one

    poop at a time. Be a responsible owner and go green for our pets.

    http://flushdoggy.com and get a FREE SAMPLE TO TRY !

  5. Jenn

    I started using cloth diapers with our second child and discovered how much I love reusable wet bags. I use them for the obvious intended use of storing dirty dipes when we’re out and about.

    But they’re also really handy for when my preschool-aged child has an accident or jumps in puddles and needs new pants. I can put all of his wet clothes in a clean wet bag instead of a plastic bag.

    When friends come over and their little ones have accidents, I usually have enough wet bags around to loan them one to bring their little ones things home in as well.

    http://www.abbyslane.com/catalog.php?category=685

  6. I wish my dog wasnt so lazy >.> all he does is sleep and go out for walks!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

