the Not-So-Simple week

Sorry I haven’t posted in a while. I’ve had a very busy week.

On Monday I had a La Leche League meeting, which I hosted myself because my co-leader’s middle child was sick. I ended up leaving my kids at her place to entertain the older one (who is Daughter’s age) – they all know each other well. The risk of them picking up the middle one’s bug was less frightening to me than trying to run a meeting with my kids there (a four hour stint when setup and cleanup is factored in).

On Tuesday I worked out of the home for a client at the local University. Kids were with an on-call Nanny who turned out to be wonderful (with one grandma out of the country and the other just having a pacemaker put in I was suddenly way short of child care). On Thursday I was away for a half-day teaching a lecture (my co-leader again babysat) and then on Friday I was working all day (Husband had the day off) and then went straight from work to see The Business of Being Born (awesome film, by the way).

I have *really* missed my children! I am so not cut out to be a full-time working mother. By Thursday morning I was not wanting to leave for work and by the weekend I was ready to quit everything. But…I do like my work when it’s only occasional (this was one of those everything-came-up-at-once weeks) and my usual six days per month is plenty for me.

Tomorrow I’m off for another full day of work and my heart isn’t in it. I still miss my kids from last week. Son came down with a cold today and was just wanting to snuggle with his mama. If he’s that sick tomorrow I can’t leave him with a Nanny. Not just because it wouldn’t be fair to her, but mostly because sick kids want their mama and I want to be there for him! If I send her home it’s $54 out of my pocket. I’m hoping Son will be perky in the morning and I’ll just come home from work a bit early when the afternoon blahs set in. I also have one more lecture this Thursday morning and then I’m done until September.

I won’t deny that the extra money is nice. But it’s weeks like these that confirm in my mind that being home with my children is a Gift and I’ve made my choices wisely. It also reaffirms my commitment to Living Simply – the rat race is not for me!

Categories: career | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “the Not-So-Simple week

  1. Abby

    Reading this reminds me to confirm my own choices. Thanks!

    It was good to see you at the BoBB.

  2. Betsy aka monkey's mom

    Yep! Those are radishes! That distinct leaf.

    Can’t wait to poke around your blog!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

