the sound of (sweeping) silence

sweeping.gifYesterday morning I woke up, padded to the kitchen, and put the kettle on for tea. As I stood there enjoying the precious silence of the morning (I wake before the kids, and before Husband on weekends) I noticed the dining area floor was pretty dirty with bits of food, etc. I really wanted to tidy up, but I didn’t want to lug my big ‘ol vaccuum cleaner out and wake everybody up. So instead I got out a broom and began sweeping (our floors are all hardwood). And I was struck with a sudden revelation – wow, this was a really peaceful way to clean!

It then occurred to me that one of the reasons I don’t vaccuum much is that the noise is so disruptive. The kids can’t hear their movies/games/computer nor can they hear each other talk. I can no longer hear them, nor my radio, or the oven timer or kettle whistle. In fact the kids groan when I bring out the vaccuum because it disturbs whatever they are doing.

The vaccuum is also cumbersome. It’s a decades-old Kirby that I inherited from my mother. Great machine, very powerful and effective. But it weighs a ton. Lugging it around is a pain, taking it in and out of the closet is a pain, as is dragging the attachments around, navigating corners, and winding up the cord afterwards.

But sweeping…I could hear the birds singing outside. I was listening to CBC on the radio and following an interesting segment that I would have completely missed had I been vaccuuming. There was relative silence, and it was golden. I happily continued with the kitchen and living room. And then took it to the next level: dusting.

I have a great dusting attachment on my vaccuum, but again it’s cumbersome and noisy. So instead I got an old, soft dishtowel, soaked it with water and wrung it out as much as I possibly could. I then dusted with it. Wow, what a great job it did! It was fast, and effective, and Quiet.

Gee, with housework like this I might just do it more often.

Categories: Homemaking | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “the sound of (sweeping) silence

  1. I have a Kirby too… two of them, actually, one up and one down, just because they’re so darned heavy!

    But I agree… vacuums suck… ha, so to speak 🙂

  2. ruralaspirations

    OMG, we have two as well! It started with my mother when she married my stepdad and they each had a Kirby. One lived upstairs and one down. We got ours when she moved into her apartment, then recently she gave us the other one so we keep that downstairs, for cleaning out the car! lol

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

