Bookworm Challenge

Another month (well, almost) and another cool challenge. This one is put out by Green Bean Dreams, and is something I can definitely Get Behind (anybody remember that album by William Shatner, and the song “I can’t get behind that”?). Anyways, it’s called Be a Bookworm May 08 and this challenge is going to be easy-peasy for me since I am an avid reader. I’ve been pouring through relevent books on sustainable living, simple living, and related topics since we came up with The Dream and The Plan. You might wonder how a full-time mum to two young homeschooled kids and part-time businesswoman finds time to read anything. Well, I am a fast reader. And I am currently working a job contract that has me commuting 1.5 hours each way, twice a week, by public transit and I have a bad habit of staying up way too late reading in bed after everybody else has fallen asleep.

I maintain a Book List on this blog. Whenever I hear about a book I think I should read, I add it to the On Hold list at my library and when I’m done I review it and add it to my List. There are so many books that have profoundly moved me, but as far as this Simple Living thing goes I’d have to credit Michael Pollan’s The Omnivore’s Dilemma as being the first to inspire me to significant change and action. The next was David Wann’s Affluenza and from there it was just a snowball effect for me.

I’ll see which of the big ‘On Hold’ books (listed on my sidebar) come in first and that will be my Bookworm Challenge novel. Currently I’m voraciously devouring The 100 Mile Diet, which is a particularly wonderful read since I live within the same one hundred miles that the authors relied on for their sustenance. The tidbits of local history have been especially poignant. I’ve also got The World Without Us by Alan Weisman which, coincidentally, features a photo of my city’s skyline on the front cover (though the author himself does not live here, nor is from here). I’m looking forward to participating in Green Bean’s Challenge and perhaps discovering some more great reads to add to my list. Happy Reading everyone!

Categories: Uncategorized | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Bookworm Challenge

  1. I really liked the 100 Mile Diet book too! I was visiting some family and friends on the Island last year and had lunch at the bakery where they finally got their local wheat. I just love that place. 🙂

  2. I’m so glad you are participating in the challenge. I have read a number of the same books as you (according to your book list). For me, books have literally changed my life. Anyway, I’ve also got The World Without Us out from the library as well as Break Through and Simple Prosperity. I was part way through the first but had to put it on hold to finish Common Wealth or face fines. Anyway, I’m not sure I can fit it back in. There is just so much to read! 🙂 Anyway, nice to run into a fellow bookworm who is reading when she should probably be sleeping.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

