Veggie Tales – FIRST HARVEST!

On Sunday I ventured into my garden and plucked the very first fruit of my labour from the soil…in case you missed the sneak preview in my last post, here it is in all its vegetable glory:

It was one of a few that were poking up from the soil a bit. After I picked this one I dug around gently and found more that seemed ready to pick:

Then I decided that I would harvest the whole plot so I could replant something else in there. Turns out some of them were a bit…well, stunted:

I’m not sure if this is just seed variability or what…Anyways, here is the whole gang of 16; 11 were of edible size:

I couldn’t resist having a taste right there in the garden, so I plucked off the top and bottom of my first picked radish, rinsed it in a bucket of water I’d poured for watering, and ate it. It was….well, it tasted like a radish!

Seriously though, having read so much about how amazing home-grown food is, how much brighter and bolder the taste is compared to grocery-store fare, I suppose I was expecting something big. In fact, if anything I’d say the radish tasted a bit mild and watery, though with the characteristic “kick” at the end. Later I read that the faster the radish grows, the sweeter and more flavourful it is. With our late, cold spring these guys were in the ground twice as long as they should have been. So I planted a new plot of radishes. I didn’t put them in the same plot as the one I’d just harvested – the idea with SFG is to rotate crops – instead I planted them in the old garlic plot (which I saw had not been growing at all after my attempts at salvaging them).

I also plucked my very first and only weed thus far:

Seems Mel was right about SFG requiring very little weeding!

On to the onions…I admit I didn’t search too long on the ‘Net because dinner was in the works, but I wanted to harvest a green onion and I tried to find out how. See, the Internet said that you just pluck the whole thing from the ground, but that’s assuming you’ve got little spring onion bulbs in there. I don’t. I have “multiplier onions”. My bunches of scallions all appear to be attached to the same big onion bulb (I dug around gently to check). So I decided to just wing it – I took a pair of sharp scissors and cut off one at the stem. Unfortunately I don’t have a photo, but it just looked like your basic green onion and I have to say I did enjoy the flavour. I’m curious to see what will happen with the cut part – will it grow back? Will the remaining stalks have to feed the growing onion bulb themselves? (in which case I’d better be careful not to harvest too many from any one bulb) And I’m still not clear on how I’m going to get more than one onion from the one bulb I planted in each spot. So far underneath the lush green tops all I’m seeing is a single bulb.

I have a feeling there’s going to be a lot more learning to come!

Categories: being green, gardening, know your food | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Veggie Tales – FIRST HARVEST!

  1. Very cool!
    I am almost ready to move out tomato plants outside! I can’t wait to see your next crop!

  2. Pingback: Veggie Tales: troubleshooting « Rural Aspirations

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

