Getting back into shape

I was a runner through most of the nineties. I didn’t run races or enter competitions; I ran for fitness, usually less than 5k. I stopped running in 2000 when my increasingly busy schedule and poor weather (I moved to the midwest where winters are rough) made it difficult to keep up with it. There is nothing more torturous than heading out for a run after missing a few sessions! So I switched to power walking and did that right up until I had children. 

Lately I’ve been wanting to start up a fitness regime again. I turned 40 this year and I can feel it in the stiffness of my muscles and my lack of endurance. With Husband at home now I decided to start doing some regular exercising. I went for a power walk last week, and was surprised to feel the urge to run. Yesterday I found a Learn To Run 10K training program, very similar to the one I embarked on so many years ago. Today was my first session! I was up at 6:45 and it was a glorious summer morning. I’m hoping that, by the time summer is over, I’ll have established enough of a habit to continue through the shorter days. 

And hey, I might just finally shed that extra 12 lbs I’ve been carrying around for a while!

Categories: lifestyle | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Getting back into shape

  1. Nicki

    There’s a Couch to 5K podcast that you can download and it tells you exactly when to walk and run. Keep wanting to try it, but probably never will.. sigh.

  2. Nicki

    PS – It’s called Podcasts for Running by Robert Ullrey. It’s a free podcast in 9 parts.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

