Counting my Blessings

There have been some pretty big changes around here, including me being suddenly swamped with work (I have a home-based consulting business). As the former Number One stay home parent, I’ve had to relinquish alot of control lately. Husband is spending far more time with the kids (though at least I’m at home most of the time, and can step out for a break with them every now and then). He is doing housework in his own way, feeding the kids, and taking them out to playgrounds, etc. I’ve been watching him and the children figuring out their way with each other and I’m really proud of the job my man is doing. Most importantly, it gives me great peace of mind to know I can spend three full days working in our home office knowing the kids are being well-taken care of. I’m quite enjoying my work, happy to be contributing to the family income, and admittedly it’s a nice break from the old routine where I barely got a minute to myself. Still, with consulting the business comes in waves and I’m certain that soon I’ll be back in a quiet period and can enjoy daily life with the kids again. I wouldn’t want it to be this way all the time!

Every now and then I hear about parents who are having conflicts in the way they raise their kids. I can’t imagine how stressful it would be to feel so strongly about certain issues and have to battle your spouse to implement them. This issue is, of course, even worse with ex-spouses and blended families. My heart goes out to them. Just recently I read of a woman who wants to homeschool her kids this year and her ex, a highschool teacher, is pulling out every stereotype and prejudice in the book. 

These things make me realize how blessed I am to have a partner who shares my vision for the kids, shares my values, etc. And it’s a bit of a fluke, really, because I knew nothing about parenting when we first got together and even when I first got pregnant I was certain we’d do cribs and spanking and all the rest. I never thought in a million years we’d be unschooling!! I know that life is a bit of a roller-coaster and times will get tough at some point in the future, so I’m trying to just enjoy the good times and be present with them.

Categories: parenting | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Counting my Blessings

  1. I too am blessed with a supportive husband. I think it makes all the difference in the world.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

