One Local Summer: week 9

This week’s meal was a repeat of one before: grilled portobello mushroom sandwiches. I can get 4 medium sized mushrooms for $5 at the farmer’s market. These four went two to Husband, one to me, and one leftover ended up sliced on a home-made pizza the next day. Definitely got our money’s worth, I’d say!

I didn’t make the buns this time, they are from a local bakery called Uprising Breads. The corn and yellow and gold zucchini came from the farmer’s market. Once again I could have used a slice of cheese melted on top but I didn’t have any (other than the generic marble cheddar the kids eat by the pound; not what I had in mind). Simple. Local. Yummy. 

Categories: know your food, one local summer '08 | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

