Red-Breasted Sapsucker

While at the park the other day the kids were playing with a bunch of other children near a small wood when I noticed this little fellow calmly sucking up some tree sap. I was amazed at how little he was bothered by the noise of the children, and how close he let us come. I snapped this photo with my iPhone, which has no zoom function on the camera. I was probably 3 feet away at this point. When we got home Daughter and I looked him up in our Birds of Southwestern BC book. He was easy to find given his beautiful colouring.

Categories: Fascinating Finds | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Red-Breasted Sapsucker

  1. What a great photo!!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

