Name that Farm

For weeks now Husband and I have been trying to come up with a name for our farm. Problem is, I want something nature-ish and he wants something cool and preferably cheeky!

When I wander around the property I am struck every day by the chorus of birdsong that resonates from the trees. That is a special part of this place for me. I also love and cherish the forest that surrounds us. I made a sheet with words related to songs and trees and other things I think of when I wander around here. My two favorites are Serenade Farm and Songwood Hill Farm (because we are on a hill). Husband says my suggestions are too “Elven”, lol.

I despair that we will never come up with a name that really feels like The Name of this place. Meanwhile, though none of you have seen the place, if anyone has favorite farm names to suggest I’m all ears.

Categories: Uncategorized | 7 Comments

Post navigation

7 thoughts on “Name that Farm

  1. Elven Woods Farm – haha

    Don’t know. We’re struggling with a name, too.

  2. I like names that refer to an event, like Five Arrow Farm or Missing Goat farm. Is there something particular that has happened upon founding your homestead that you could reference? Or perhaps pulling from the history of the land and past owners? If all else fails, a (blank) & (blank) name always sounds cool and could serve you both. Something like: Hill & Trill Farm. I dunno, maybe that trick only works for hipster clothing labels!

  3. If you link to the farmfreshguide, there are some lovely farm names listed to inspire and get you thinkin’…

    Things are really moving along for you all…very exciting. You have gotten alot accomplished in a short time!

    I’m about to order a new Gordon Neufeld DVD and thought of you. How are you liking his newest? That’s the one we’re going to order…25% off special until end of June…I’m on his mailing list, I think that’s why I get a discount from attending prior GN workshops.
    Checking in after feeling more energy for corresponding. Did Emily have her birthday yet?? How did it go??

  4. This may be a really obvious suggestion (ie you probably already did this), but what about doing a bit of historical research and picking a name that links your farm to the property (or area) history (either Euro or First Nations)? Barring that you could go totally “Elvish” and call it Gandalf’s Glade or Hobbit Haus or Rivendell Ranch. No, please, don’t thank me, I’ve got a million of them! πŸ™‚

  5. zephyrhill

    We spent a lot of time naming our own farm, and I actually blogged on this very subject to help others out! Here’s my post – maybe it will give you some inspiration!

    http://zephyrhill.wordpress.com/2009/07/06/how-to-name-your-farm-or-ranch/

  6. paul

    Hi there. im in the same boat we have got 5 acres here in new zealand with out a name ( hence me searching the net !) here the natives are called maoris and in maori
    “Te Aroha” means “the love” might work?

    any how we have brother in law in vancouver island -campbell river?? near you?? never been there myself.. regards…. paul

  7. Hideaway Farm

    Hello Paul!

    I actually have relatives in Auckland and have been to Aoteoroa many times! I love Maori names and think yours is a great idea. πŸ˜‰

    Campbell River is not too far from here. Small world!

    There’s a farm near Victoria we pass sometimes that has a sign out front that reads: “Ngawati Wharau.” I think I’m the only one around here who knows what a “wharau” is. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

