Miniature Polymer Clay Box

IMG_20140903_194155

Miss Em has long loved to sculpt things with polymer clay. She especially loves doing miniatures, and used to spend hours watching YouTube videos of people making tiny creations. She recently picked up her bin of clay and got to work on a little project.

I had mentioned to her a while back that when she was 3 years old, she went through a phase where she was obsessed with ladybugs. I told her how one day we were out walking in our neighbourhood and saw an interesting insect, which she said might be a ladybug larva. Sure enough, we went home and looked it up, and there it was in our insect book.* She smiled as I told her this story, but I figured she had about as much enthusiasm for “when you were little” stories as I did at age 12, which is to say “virtually none.” Little did I know…

So a few days ago she is sitting there with her clay and asks me “Mum, what year was it when I was 3?” I told her, not thinking much of it, and went back to my work. A little while later, she shows me what she has made. It’s a tiny box, with a lid that fits snugly over the top. The whole thing is no more than 2 cm wide! On the lid is a ribbon tied into a bow, and the year “2005” in tiny lines of clay (she still gets her 2’s backwards sometimes, so cute). Inside the box…was a ladybug. It was her little commemoration to her love of ladybugs when she was 3 years old, and it warmed my heart!

IMG_20140903_194113

* turns out I blogged about our discovery, and in the blog post I discovered she was actually 5 years old, not 3.

Categories: a day in the life, Crafting, Miss Em, Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

