Catching Up

2014 2015

It has been a while since I last posted. Mostly I have not had time to blog, but I’m hoping that will change. In fact, I’m hoping a lot of things change this year!

2014 was an interesting, challenging, and somewhat difficult year for our family. There was a real slowdown for Husband in terms of paid work, and he decided to devote his time to learning a new trade, in a manner of speaking, by developing extensive networks in our community through volunteering, attending meetings, etc. It meant he received virtually no income last year and I took on a lot of the breadwinning with my work-from-home editing job. I really loved the work, but the deadlines began to take their toll on me and the pay was not great. I actually pulled a few all-nighters, which is not much fun at my age! I also began to really miss the kids (and their complaints about my frequent non-availability tugged hard at my heart), the state of the house teetered precariously on the border of chaos, and I grew more and more unhappy.

Fortunately, things have begun to pick up for Husband, and last month I was able to quit my editing job. I do miss working for my boss, who was a good guy, but I really do not miss the stress of having to drop everything to meet a deadline. And I’m loving being a full time homemaker again! With the holidays it took me some time but my house is now back in order. Today was my weekly housecleaning and it is amazing how much less time it takes when I’m not decluttering at the same time!

2015 is shaping up to be a great year for us. Last year was very difficult due to our income being dramatically reduced, but Husband has secured a great contract for the next few months, and there is talk of it being renewed after this project. To top it off, the time he devoted to networking looks like it may have paid off – he is the top candidate right now for a local job with our district that pays very well. If all goes as hoped and planned, we will be able to seriously consider building the (very much needed) new house on our property some time this year.

With my house in order and the kids back into a good homeschooling routine, I’ve freed up some time for myself during the evenings and on weekends. I’ve already knitted myself a new pair of socks and am working on another pair. I’m also making a quilt for my mother that I am really excited about. I’ll post more on those creations later. Plus I’m volunteering with my local Green Party of Canada riding as we gear up for a federal election this year. I’m really enjoying meeting new people in my community! I’m also hoping to now devote some time to this blog again and provide more regular posts. So stay tuned!

bigstock_Sunny_Days_Ahead_Sign_4313446

Categories: family life | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Catching Up

  1. hicamie

    So glad to hear things are looking up with your husband’s job. I can imagine you’re breathing easier now. I wish you all the best this year. Can’t wait to see your creations, too. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

