An Exciting Announcement!

Confetti01_216

It has been five and a half years since we moved to this property.

When we bought this place, the plan was to live in the little mobile home for a couple of years and then build an environmentally friendly home. But life has a way of throwing obstacles in one’s path, and that was certainly the case for us. After an aborted attempt to get started two years ago, and with the ancient mobile rapidly deteriorating before our eyes, I’m thrilled to announce that we are FINALLY building a house!!!

I have not been keeping up with my blogging of late, but now I will be reporting regularly on the build, documenting the process and the unique design of the home. What’s unique about it, you may ask?

Well, I noted above that I wanted an “environmentally friendly” home, but what that means has changed for me over the years. If there is an upside to waiting so long, it’s that I’ve had ample time to do my research into “green building” and I’ve changed a few things along the way. There are a few unique design elements in the plans, and in some ways I have ended up going against the grain of current thinking around green building practices. I’ll be happy to detail this in future posts and to document the success (or failure!) of our design in the months and years ahead.

Meanwhile, as you can imagine, my life is about to get a whole lot busier! But I am so thrilled to finally be at this point, that no amount of work can get me down!

cottage

Categories: Uncategorized | 3 Comments

Post navigation

3 thoughts on “An Exciting Announcement!

  1. Congratulations! I’ve always wanted to build, and we’ve talked about it from time to time, but nothing ever came of it. I wish you every success and I’ll look forward to your progress reports.

  2. I look forward to reading your updates, and what you decide to do, against the green grain. All building is an exercise in compromise, no matter which way you lean. But I’m always fascinated how people end up making their decisions. Building is fun, when its not completely scary, lol. 😉

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

